新世界无止桥

项目地点 – 甘肃省庆阳市合水县太白村

项目背景 – 当地曾在2000年建有一水泥桥,但在2001年便因大水冲塌。现只留有桥墩2个。

受惠村民 – 2036名 (約400名学童)

项目赞助 – 新世界发展有限公司

桥名 – 新世界无止桥



里程碑

由于去年当地遇上严重的瀑雨,大量的洪水对桥梁结构造成了破坏, 故此基金决定为村民重修桥梁, 并在八月由当地施工队修好新桥。
七月二十五日至八月二日期间,近八十位来自中港两地的师生、新世界集团义工队及专业人士为位于偏远的甘肃省太白村居民建设了一条长二十七米的步行桥。
队伍于四月底为施工所需步骤作测试, 务求配合工程的需要。
無止橋設計方案競賽於十二月初落實賽果。經基金審批後,項目決定採納第一組一等獎的設計。 隊伍於十二月進行第二次深入的考察,並進一步評估採用得獎設計方案的可行性。
西安建筑科技大学建筑学系于十一月举办了一个无止桥设计方案竞赛, 为项目征集共25个方案。
西安建筑科技大学于四月进行第一次实地考察工作。 请按此浏览考察报告。

无止感言

Eli「螺丝上好后,我往山上看。每天在山上拍摄的摄影师还在。从山上往下看,我们究竟像甚么?大概像蚂蚁搬家一样罢:拿着比自己还重的食物团团转。细小的身体,庞大的力气--蚂蚁实在太神奇了。但对蚂蚁来说,一切的赞叹也不过是人类对蚂蚁的浪漫化描写。搬食物只是一件延续生命的平凡差事......桥「无止」,意旨在人与人之间建搭无数实体的桥梁和互相认知的渠道。这道理所有人未出发已读得滚瓜烂熟。但亲身参与搭桥后,我才明白「无止」更大的意义:桥予人一个机会,远离洪水的威胁,安乐地平实过活。桥正是延续生活的途径,是生活的象征。」
杜伦大学冯海容同学
Au「洪水无情, 缘起无止 远赴西安, 夜渡太白 建桥之日, 风雨飘摇 翻滚巨轮, 桥起于始 众志诚诚, 排除万难 六日辛勤, 新桥横卧 村民雀跃, 义工得着 别了太白, 友情还在」
新世界发展有限公司欧兆基先生
Jayne「经过九天的体验,我得到的比付出的超出很多。我的顾虑也不见了.`助人为快乐之本`,这种满足感是不管用多少钱也买不到的。这种旅行,甚至比吃喝玩乐的豪华团更开心,更有收获...... 这次建桥活动没我想象中那么吃力,很高兴能接受各种挑战。无止桥不光是象征着让孩子们无止境的学习,其实,也象征着我会学无止境。 」
伦敦大学学院苏孜颖同学
Cindy「一个星期的简朴生活真不简单,最后一次过桥的时候真是觉得无限空虚,当我站在对岸的时候,双脚没被河水弄湿,暮然回首,我看到桥,然后是工棚和那块土地,曾经满布污泥、曾经被水泥圈覆盖,而现在水泥圈都在河床里寂寂沈睡了。我知道我是不会再回来的,因为这村子实在太偏僻了;但每当我想到我们留下的桥、我们得到的宝贵经历,我的心便会获得安抚。我认识了很多来自中港两地的朋友,尝试了一些简单但美味的饭菜(没有添加味精),每天都跟村里的小孩玩耍,和发现我自己比想象中强壮。很多有形无形的东西和无止桥早已收进我的心底裹去。 」
意大利亚得里亚海联合世界书院冯海翔同学

New World Wu Zhi Qiao

Project Photo

Site Location – Taibai Village, Heshui County, Qingyang City
Site Background – In 2000, a cement bridge was built. However, it was collapsed due to flood water and now only have two piers left.

Villagers Benefited – 2036 nos (about 400 students)



Milestone

As the village had experienced heavy downpour last year, and the flood water further damaged the bridge structure, Foundation decided to rebuild the bridge for the villagers. A new bridge was built by local contractor in Aug.
Close to 80 professionals and student volunteers mainly both Hong Kong and Mainland Universities and a volunteer team from New World Development Co Ltd accomplished a 27 meters long footbridge for locals in Taibai Village on 1 Aug.
Project team conducted testing for construction procedures to double check the construction feasibility in April.

Bridge Design Competition result was finalized in early Dec. With approval from Foundation, the design by the champion from the 1st Group will be adopted for the project.

Project team conducted the 2nd survey trip in Dec to further assess the feasibility of the awarded bridge design.

The Architecture Department of XUAT conducted a bridge design competition in Nov 08. Total 25 designs were collected.
XUAT conducted the 1st survey trip in Apr. Click here for survey report (Chinese version only).

Quotes by WZQers

Eli"When the nuts and bolts were done, I looked up to the hill where our camera man recorded the building process everyday. I wondered what we looked like from a bird-eye’s view – perhaps a colony of ants tottering with food twice our size? Ants are incredible. They can carry objects that outweigh them. As far as ants are concerned, however, the human fascination for their hard work is mostly just the romanticisation of a banal routine that sustains their life......The term wu-zhi translates as infinite connectivity. It refers to building physical as well as emotional connections between people. Now that I have taken part in building a Wuzhiqiao, I realize there is more to the sense of boundlessness in the concept of wu-zhi: the bridge provides for the opportunity to conduct daily tasks without the threat of floods. It is a means to sustain life."
Miss Elizabeth Fung, Durham University
Au"The troubled water rushed past, but fate will not stumble. We journeyed to Xi’an, reaching Taibai at the end of the rumble. The rain and wind depressed us, but we built the bridge. The hefty wheels rolled, the yonder shore reached. Devoted, through difficulties we plowed our way. After six days of toils quietly the new bridge laid. The inhabitants rejoiced, the volunteers rewarded. Taibai is forever gone, but our fellowship forever warded."
Poem from Mr Au Siu Kei, New World Development Co Ltd
Jayne"However, I have gained much more than I could have asked for over the nine days and thankfully my worries have somehow disappeared in one way or another. A lot of encounters were new, yet very exciting at the same time! As a whole team of volunteers, we all had different backgrounds, but shared the common goal of helping the villagers to build a bridge......Ultimately, a bridge too far/ “Wuzhiqiao” symbolises ‘endless’ education for the children in the village. That, however, would apply to me too. There is just so much more to learn in life!"
Miss Jayne So, University College London
Cindy"Living the simple life for a week had been extraordinary, and I felt very empty as I crossed the bridge for the last time on Saturday. As I stood on the other end – my feet dry – I looked back at the bridge, and eventually raised my gaze to our workplace that spread across the piece of rough muddy land that had once been full of the concrete wheels now sturdily lying on the riverbed. I knew I would not be back again – the village was way too remote. But I sought consolation in the fact that though I was leaving the bridge behind, I was taking so much more back to the city life with me. I have met amazing friends across Mainland China and Hong Kong, I have eaten very simple but wonderful food (with no MSG!), I have gotten to play with the kids in the village every day, and I have delightfully discovered that I am stronger than I thought. In more ways than one, tangible or not, I have taken the Wu Zhi Qiao back with me."
Miss Cindy Fung, United World College of the Adriatic, Italy