常见问题

<无止桥的背景、宗旨和目的>

现时中国内地西北地区的贫困农村生活环境是怎样的呢?
由于交通闭塞、资源匮乏和恶劣的生态环境等客观条件的限制,农村的经济水平低,基础设施、教育与卫生条件亦比较差。他们一般也较容易遭受灾害和气候改变的威胁。
常言中国经济起飞,改善地方交通不是内地地方政府的责任吗?为什么需要由香港的慈善组织为中国内地农村建桥?
虽然中国经济起飞,但中国幅员辽阔,政府的资源未必能一一送抵、授予许多偏远的地区,特别是一些偏远山区农村。我们的角色便是去填补这个空隙。更重要的是,我们希望无止桥能通过推动香港和内地义工亲赴内地偏远的角落,传递我们对当地村民的关爱,让他们知道,外面的世界没有遗忘他们。
为什么不直接捐款予内地地方政府建桥,而要由香港和内地的大学生赴农村建桥?
无止桥的目的不止于为农村建设桥梁,更重要的是香港、内地的大学生、村民三方面的沟通交流,建立心桥,同时希望大学生可以通过参与建桥项目,了解内地农村的地方文化和民生环境,并身体力行为有需要的人贡献力量。

在桥梁的建造过程中,除了大学生义工的参与,我们亦非常重视当地村民的参与和合作,从而加强他们对桥梁的拥有感,以便鼓励他们在桥梁落成移交后积极进行维护工作。此做法一方面能加强学生与村民的交流,另一方面则是在施工过程中,让义工能把建桥的知识与技巧传授予当地村民,授之以渔。

单凭一个慈善组织的力量,难以彻底改善中国所有农村的出行问题,
无止桥为何仍坚持不断开展新的建桥项目?
个人的力量无疑是非常有限的;但通过热心尽责的青年人的参与,我们期望能培养年轻一代对社会的承担和关爱,鼓励他们体会农民的因难,从而学懂珍惜现有的生活,获得施与、服务他人的喜悦。我们祈望能激发更多年青人参与无止桥项目,让无止桥的精神在不同的领域和范畴上薪火相传。

<无止桥项目的组织与参与>

无止桥与参与的大学的关系是怎样的?如何确保大学团队在项目上的运作准确到位?
我们十分重视学生的自发性参与,因此我们一直积极支持成立学生主导的大学无止桥团队,在相关学院及学系老师指导下进行项目,而基金则为大学团队提供多方面支持,包括赞助项目经费、技术指导、取得中央部委和地方单位协助支持等。

除了大学学院及学系老师的指导外,基金的职员及项目委员会亦会就项目的运作统筹积极沟通并给予意见。基金亦会促进合作院校之间的沟通、相互合作与学习,并通过交流营、聚会等总结和分享学生的学习经历与体会。

既然是以大学生为本的服务项目,是否表示社会人士不能参与建桥活动呢?
无止桥非常欢迎社会人士参与无止桥的建桥项目,只是碍于名额有限,一般以大学生为优先考虑。此外,基于安全考虑,参加者须年满18岁或以上。

建桥招募的讯息会于基金网页发布,社会人士和大学生可以相同途径报名参与。

我没有土木工程、建筑或建造业的背景,能否参与无止桥的建桥项目?
无止桥一直提倡高科技、低技术的建桥方法。因此,在建桥过程中,即使参加者和村民没有专业背景,亦能按指示学会简易的操作,协助兴建组装或其他后勤工作。

在无止桥项目中,除了建桥的设计与施工等需要专业背景的工作外,亦有协调、宣传、设计、医疗、后勤、摄影及录像等其他工作。我们相信来自不同学科或背景的同学及社会人士都能发挥所长。我们殷切欢迎来自任何学科背景的大学生加入该校的无止桥团队,协助统筹建桥项目,或报名参与一次性的建桥施工活动。

如欲加入无止桥大学团队,需要符合什么条件吗?
参加的学生需积极主动,愿意承担,热衷于建桥项目策划及跨文化协作,乐于与他人合作及交流,主动学习,并积极参与推动团队和无止桥的活动,将所学到的经验及知识与人分享。
我们怎样才能组织无止桥大学团队?
无止桥大学团队的核心成员人数一般为8至10名,其中统筹员应具一定的建桥经验及领导能力,团队由校内相关学院或学系老师指导。同学须自行筹组团队成员及物色指导老师,并了解校方于项目行政上的支持。如欲成立团队,可参阅《无止桥大学团队手册》,并提交「无止桥大学团队申请表」予基金确认。

<无止桥志愿者的组织与运作>

如何筛选参加者参与建桥活动?
志愿者一般由统筹大学的无止桥团队成员及基金会代表共同筛选,所有志愿者均须参加面试及简介会。入选与否主要视乎其对项目的热心程度和承担,及其技能能否应用于项目当中。基金鼓励来自不同大学的学生参与其中。在决定活动成员的组成中,亦会考虑新旧团队成员之间的承传。另我们亦会扶掖有心、有承担且有经验的骨干成员作为年青项目导师,以利项目的推展及承传。
无止桥义工会否使用善款私下游歴? 免费旅游?
基金一直致力透过资助和鼓励大学生在农村进行建设项目及民生活动,让大学生有机会亲力亲为,为社会作出贡献。无止桥会审批大学提供的项目计划书,提供与项目有关的前期村落调研、测量、家访、材料采购、基地准备及现场施工的基本差旅费用,包括交通、餐饮、住宿、保险、急救用品等。(基金建议使费标准为: 人均每天餐饮为50元/市内住宿人均每晚100元/乡镇人均每晚80元/村内住宿人均每晚补贴10-20元)

而项目以外一切涉及私人游历及延长逗留之额外费用丶保险及安全则由志愿者个人自行承担。

无止桥学生团队在调研前后有何责任?
团队进行调研前需对项目及可能的研究议题,如各类桥型的设计考虑,民生需求调研方法等进行桌面研究,制定相关的行程规划、材料及项目安排等细节.此类工作的协调多由成员透过电话、电邮、讨论群组及网路会议进行。

团队在活动前需作出包括行程,参与人员及预算的计画书供基金审批,每次调研后亦需提交报告。部份报告已上载至网页,欢迎前往项目部份参考。

志愿者在村中只是建桥吗? 有没有其他工作?
项目的完成有赖团队成员的分工合作.除了建设工程,建设期间的所有安排,包括食、住、行、材料购置、订立施工合同、协调施工单位及政府部门等都由团队自行安排。一般建设时会分工程组、民生组、记录组、后勤组等。志愿者一般会轮流参与不同岗位。每个组别所需志愿者数目视项目而定,如桥点与准备膳食点较远或当地村民的饮食习惯与志愿者有较大的分别,后勤组或需由较多的人员(如六人)完成。
基金如何促进团队的建立和承传?
香港及内地大学志愿者是无止桥项目的核心部份。年度迎新会,交流会及各分享会是凝聚各团队的机会,亦同时是把无止桥的理念以及项目讯息及指引传递各大学团队成员的时刻。同时,在项目过程中,无止桥亦会不时对团队作出指引。为促进新旧团队经验的承传及团队间网络的建立,新旧骨干都会被邀请参与这些活动,并以旧带新的方法,由旧成员进行报告及带领分享。

同上(2),我们只会为内地成员提供有关活动期间的补贴,其他个人及活动以外一切私人游历及延长逗留之费用丶保险及安全由志愿者个人自行承担。

<建桥的考虑因素及后续事项>

建桥项目的规模如何?建设的桥梁可以容许车辆通过吗?
无止桥所筹建的是人行便桥,为村庄的公共设施。设计时只会考虑村民、学童及牲畜的过河需要,原则上不容许车辆或机动车使用。
无止桥是如何发掘项目点的?项目点的需求评估如何?潜在项目点的申请、审批与运作的整个程序是怎样的?
除了中央或地方政府提供的桥点以外,无止桥亦通过发动大学团队和基金职员亲赴中国西北农村地区发掘潜在可能桥点,同时,我们亦有赖于内地开展慈善工作的其他非政府组织提供有建桥需求的地点或村庄讯息。

无止桥项目选址一般有以下要求:

1. 偏远贫困的农村,每年人均收入约五千人民币或以下。
2. 当地有逼切建设行人桥需要,如当地只有简便过河材料/危桥,而规划上该桥没有行车需求。
3. 技术上可支持人手建桥的地方。

请按此参阅无止桥项目的整个项目申请、审批与运作程序。

为什么要就地取材,并以环保的建筑概念建设无止桥?
水泥钢筋等物料不是更耐用,使当地村民能长久受用吗?
建桥时能做到因地制宜、就地取材,不但能减少运输及燃料费,亦能融入自然,经济耐用。水泥钢筋桥在偏远农村环境的质量比较参差,更不利于村民日后的自行修护,并不符合当地持续使用的原则。
据闻无止桥主要是以人手建造,并由大学生所设计,如何保证桥梁的安稳性及质素?
大学团队的设计图及施工图除了由该校老师指导外,亦要经基金审批,由项目及资源委员会仔细考虑设计和施工的可行性、经济效益和当地环境等其他因素。赴农村进行桥梁施工时,基金亦会派管理层人员和项目及资源委员会成员随团监督,以确保桥梁能顺利竣工。

现时基金的项目及资源委员会成员有来自香港及内地的建筑、工程、测量、学术界及具丰富地方资源网络的人士。

建成桥梁后,基金如何处理其日后修护与安全事项?会定期派员观察吗?
桥梁于竣工当日便会成为村中的公共设施、并正式移交给当地的村委会,由村委会负责进行日常保养和修缮工作。大学团队在施工过程中,会邀请当地村民参与,以传授基本技术,有利村民日后进行修护工作。基金亦会与村委会保持联系,以知悉桥梁的现况。

<资金与经费>

基金的资金主要是从何而来?
基金的捐款全数来自热心的善长、公司、赞助商等。现时基金没有取得政府的资助。
基金会怎样处理善款?捐款会不会大部份用作基金的行政费用呢?一般建桥的费用是多少呢?
所有善款将会用以支持无止桥慈善基金的营运和项目发展开支,而基金每年的行政费用均低于15%。

每座无止桥的规模为造价在人民币二十五万元以下的小型人行便桥,是村庄的公共设施。除了建桥的施工费用外,大部份的项目捐款都用于学生义工亲赴农村考察的差旅费用。此乃由于基金希望能够提供宝贵的学习机会予大学生,让他们踏足农村,了解当地文化和村民的需要和困境,同时与其他不同背景的学生合作,为国家、社会上有需要人士伸出援手

FAQ

The background, aim and objective of Wu Zhi Qiao

What is the living condition for those remote and underprivileged rural villages located at the North West Mainland China now?
Under-developed transportation system, lack of resources and poor ecological environment, etc. are objective constraints that lead to low economic level and lack of primary infrastructure in remote rural villages. The education and health conditions are also relatively poor. In general, they are more vulnerable to disasters and climatic change.
The economy of Mainland China has been greatly improved, will it be the responsibility of local government to invest in the modernization of their transportation system? Why we need a charitable organization in Hong Kong to organize bridge building project in remote rural area in Mainland China?
The economy of Mainland China only improved in urban area. China is so large that government resources may not be able to reach remote areas, especially some remote rural and mountainous areas. Our role is to fill this gap. More importantly, we hope Hong Kong and Mainland China volunteers can visit those villagers in remote rural area in Mainland China through the Wu Zhi Qiao project. They can convey care and love to local villagers and let them know that they are not neglected by the outside world.
Instead of sending Mainland China and Hong Kong university students to go to the village to build the bridge, why don’t we just give donation to the local government and let them build the bridge themselves?
Building physical bridge for rural remote villagers is not the only objective of the Wu Zhi Qiao project. More importantly, the tripartite communication between Hong Kong and Mainland university students and villagers can be enhanced such that an invisible spiritual bridge will be built. Through participating in the bridge project, students can have more understanding of the local culture and the people’s livelihood. These personal experiences encourage students to contribute their effort to the needy continuously.

During the construction of the bridge, we emphasize not only the participation of volunteers and university students, but also the involvement and cooperation of local villagers, through which their sense of ownership to maintain and protect the completed bridge handed over to them can be strengthened. This practice can on the one hand, enhance the communication between students and villagers and on the other, enable villagers help themselves through imparting knowledge and skills from the volunteers during the bridge construction process.

It is hard to eliminate all problems exist in remote rural villages in Mainland China by the contribution of one charitable organization. Why Wu Zhi Qiao still insists on carrying out new bridge projects continuously?
The power of an individual is undoubtedly very limited. We expect to nurture younger generation their commitment and care to the community through their enthusiastic and conscientious participation in the project. We encourage them to experience the hardship of villagers so that they can treasure what they have and get the satisfaction from giving and serving others. We hope to inspire more young people to participate in our project and let the spirit of Wu Zhi Qiao be inherited without boundaries.

Organization & Participation of Wu Zhi Qiao

What is the relationship between Wu Zhi Qiao and participated university? How to ensure smooth operation when volunteers from university work for the project?
We treasure the self-initiated participation of the students. We encourage them to set up Wu Zhi Qiao team in their university and play dominant role under the supervision of their department and professor. The foundation will provide support to the university teams including project fund, technical guidance and solicit support from local and central government.

Besides the guidance given by the professor from university college and the department, the Foundation’s staff and the project committee will assist actively on communication and provide advice on how to manage and operate the project. The Foundation will also encourage communication, cooperation and learning between the participated institutions. Camping and meeting will also be organized to summarize and share the learning experience of the students.

The Foundation targets at student services. Does it mean that the public cannot participate in bridge construction activities?
We are eager to welcome the public to join the bridge building project. In general, students will get priority when applications exceed the limited quota. Furthermore, the participants must be at least 18 years old due to safety consideration.

Bridge building recruitment message will be published in the Foundation’s website. The public and university students can enroll to participate in the same way.

I do not have the background of civil engineering, architecture or construction industry. Can I participate in Wu Zhi Qiao project?
Wu Zhi Qiao has been advocating a high-technology cum low skillfulness method in bridge building. During the bridge building process, participants and villagers can help in the assembly or logistic work by following simple instructions though they have no professional background.

For Wu Zhi Qiao project, we not only need participants with professional background in the design and construction of bridges, but also those who can help in the areas such as coordination, advertising design, medical, logistics, photography and video work. We believe that both the students from different disciplines or backgrounds and the public can apply their best. We sincerely welcome students having background of any discipline to join the Wu Zhi Qiao team in their university and help in the bridge building coordination work, or enrol in a one-off bridge construction activity.

How can I be qualified for joining Wu Zhi Qiao university team?
Participating students need to be proactive, responsible, enthusiastic in bridge construction project planning and cross-cultural collaboration, willing to cooperate and communicate with others and keen to learn. They also need to participate actively in promoting team work and Wu Zhi Qiao project and to share the experience and knowledge so gained.
How can we organize Wu Zhi Qiao team at the University?
In general, each Wu Zhi Qiao university team shall have 8 to 10 core members. The team coordinator should have certain bridge building experience and leadership skill. The team can seek consultation from relative college or professor. The students are required to form a team and identify the consultation professor. They should also know what kind of administrative support on the project the university will provide. For forming of the team, please refer to the “Wu Zhi Qiao University Team Handbook” and submit the application form to the Foundation for confirmation.

Organization of Volunteers’ Activities at Wu Zhi Qiao

How are volunteers selected?
Volunteers are usually jointly selected by the organizing school team and a representative from the Wu Zhi Qiao. All applicants need to go through an interview and a briefing. The selection criteria are mainly on whether the applicants are passionate and have a strong sense of responsibility. The Foundation encourages the participation of students from different universities. The continuation of a team will also be considered in the selection process. In addition, we also take into account the training of passionate and responsible individuals who may become our future supervisors.
Can volunteers travel for leisure with the donations from the Foundation? Free travel trips?
The Foundation endeavours to subsidize and encourage university students to undertake bridge and other community projects in rural China as a form of real life contribution to the society. The Foundation assesses and approves project proposals and subsidizes the travelling costs for investigations, surveys, home visits, material procurement, site preparation and on-site construction which may include transportation costs, meals, accommodation, insurance and first aid supplies etc. The reference rate for meals is RMB50 per day per person, whilst the reference rate for accommodation is RMB 100 and RMB80 per person per night respectively in the city centre and in town centre. The reference in-kind subsidy to local villagers for staying at their homes is RMB10-20 per person per night. [Reference as of 1 February 2015]

Any personal expenses or costs incurred due to an extension of the trip for leisure will be borne by the individual. The individual will also bear the insurance and safety liability for such extensions.

What are the responsibilities of a WZQ school team pre and post-investigation trips?
School teams need to conduct desktop studies on the site and the potential investigation topics such as the design considerations on different bridge forms, needs assessment methodology etc. In addition, school teams are required to plan for the trip, material procurement and detailed project arrangement. These works may be co-ordinated between different team members through telephone conversation, emails, chat groups or internet meetings.

Prior to any trip, school teams are required to submit a project proposal which includes the trip itinerary, participants and budget for the Foundation’s approval. The schools teams are also required to submit a report after every trip. Feel free to surf through the reports uploaded under the individual project on our website.

Do volunteers only build infrastructure during construction trips? What else do they do?
The completion of a project relies on the concerted effort of all volunteers. Apart from construction, the team is responsible for all sorts of logistics including meals, accommodation, travelling, material procurement, contract negotiation, liaison with contractors and officials and so on.

The team may be divided into several groups including construction group, community group, reporting group, logistics group and so on. Volunteers may be arranged to join different groups during the trip. The number of members required for each group will depend on the specific project. For example, if there is a distance between the kitchen and the bridge site, or the local eating habits are very different to the volunteers, there may be need for a larger logistics group (say 6 people).

How does the Foundation facilitate the setup and continuation of school teams?
University volunteers from Hong Kong and mainland form the core of WZQ projects. To facilitate the continuation of the school teams, annual welcome gatherings and an interflow camp as well as sharing sessions are organized. These activities not only help to promote teamwork amongst the different teams, but are also valuable opportunities to share the vision of Wu Zhi Qiao as well as the project implementation guidelines. During project implementation, the Foundation also provides occasional guidance to the teams. To facilitate the smooth transfer to new members, old and new members will be invited to these activities in which older members will take up to role of reporting and sharing facilitation.

Similar to Item 2 above, the Foundation will only provide subsidies during these activities, all other personal expenses, or costs, safety and insurance liability due to an extension of stay will be borne by the individuals.

Considerations of Building the Bridge and Follow-up Matters

What is the size of the bridge building project? Can the bridge be used for passage of vehicles?
What Wu Zhi Qiao built are footbridges which are public facilities of the village. The design of the bridges is for villagers, students and livestock to cross the river, but not, in principle, for vehicles or motor vehicles.
How does Wu Zhi Qiao explore project sites? What requirements will be considered for a project site? What are the procedures of application, approval and operation for a potential project site?
Besides those bridge sites provided by the central or local government, we also send university team and our staff to rural areas of northwest China to explore potential sites. At the same time, we rely on referrals from other Mainland charitable organization or non-government organizations for location of potential site and information of village.

Wu Zhi Qiao will consider building bridge for the village which meets the following requirements:
1) The village is located in remote poor rural area, the annual per capita income of a villager is around five thousand RMB or below.
2) There is an urgent need to construct a pedestrian bridge. For example, there is only primitive facilities/an unsafe bridge for crossing the river, while the bridge is not intended for passage of vehicles.
3) Technically feasible to support the bridge when local manpower are needed.(?)

Please click here for details about the application, approval and operational procedures of Wu Zhi Qiao project.

Why should Wu Zhi Qiao rely on local materials and apply environmental friendly building concept to build the bridge? Cement and steel or other modern materials are more durable, why don’t let the local villagers have a more durable bridge?
Transportation and fuel costs can be reduced by using local materials to build the bridge. It also makes the bridge integrate into the natural environment, economical and durable. The quality of the cement cum steel bridge in remote rural area is not guaranteed. It will not be convenient for villagers to maintain the bridge themselves and therefore, doesn’t fulfill the concept of sustainability in using the bridge.
I learnt that Wu Zhi Qiao is mainly built by hand and designed by university students, how to ensure its reliability and quality?
The design and construction plan of the students will not only be verified by the professor, but also approved by the Project and Resources Committee of the Foundation. We will study the design carefully in terms of construction feasibility, economic benefits and local environmental factors. We will send manager staff of the Foundation and member of the Project and Resources Committee to perform on-site monitoring to ensure the project can be finished smoothly.

At present, the Project and Resources Committee is formed by members from Hong Kong and Mainland China of different disciplines such as building, engineering, surveying and academics. People with extensive network to local resources are included too.

After the completion of the bridge, how does the foundation follow up the ongoing maintenance and safety issue? Will any staff be assigned to follow up the bridge on a regular basis?
The bridge will become the public facilities of the village on the day of its completion and will be formally handed over to the local authority of the village. The local authority will be responsible for routine maintenance and repair work. During the construction process, the university team will invite local villagers to participate in the project and impart basic techniques to them. The transferred skill can enable villagers to maintain the bridge in future. The Foundation will also keep in touch with the local authority for the latest condition of the bridge.

Funding and Overhead

Where does the funding of the Foundation come from?
The funding of the Foundation fully comes from enthusiastic donors, companies, sponsors, etc. At present, the Foundation does not get any government funding.
How does the Foundation manage the funding? Will the donations be spent mainly on the administrative costs of the Foundation? What is the average cost to build a bridge?
All donations will be used to support the operation and project development of the Wu Zhi Qiao Charitable Foundation, the Foundation’s annual administrative costs are less than 15%.

The scale of a Wu Zhi Qiao is equivalent to a general passenger bridge which construction cost is below a quarter million Yuan and will become the public facilities of the village. Other than the construction costs of the bridges, majority of the donations are used for travel expenses for sending student volunteers to remote rural villages. It is the objective of the Foundation to provide valuable learning opportunities to university students, to let them reach the remote rural areas and understand the villagers’ local culture, their needs and plight. At the same time, through cooperation with students of different backgrounds, our students can help the needy from our country and community.